The Byward Market: colour, outside at night

April 5, 2010

We had wonderful weather for the Easter long weekend this year, with record-breaking temperatures in eastern Canada. I know that should be the cause for much hand-wringing, but it was very welcome after the boring winter months we’ve just had. Warm weather in Ottawa means ice cream and strolling about in the Byward Market — we just got to try it on a little earlier than usual.

I shot this and all the other images I made that evening hand-held at ISO 1600. The D90 held up well, but I keep meaning to do a proper job of it and get the tripod out. One of these days I’ll do it, because I’m sure it will pay off in image quality.

The other thing I noticed is that Ottawa doesn’t really provide a lot of “colour, outside at night.” After the New York City trip a few weeks back, everything seems a bit colourless and slow around here by comparison.

Leave a Reply

