1 – Portraits of People We’ve Never Pictured Before

October 19, 2009

Emma Silhouette 1 copy

Not quite getting the posting methods here yet but anyway, here we are, my P of a P I’ve NPB. Taken at the National Film Theatre on the South Bank in London. Interestingly, to the human eye, Emma was standing against a pure white light that for some reason has come up partially yellow on the D700 sensor (other pictures in the sequence are closer to how I saw the light but I kind of liked this one).

Thanks to Emma for her patience and her time – we spent a couple of hours shooting away and she was very compliant and fun to be with. There are some other shots that I think worked OK (many, many discards of course) and I’ll post some of these on Flickr.

Now that I’ve done a couple of sessions (a colleague at work came out to the British Museum with me at lunchtime the other day – results on Flickr and possibly one or two on here in due course), I’ve got a bit better at approaching people, although I wouldn’t say I’ve improved much in technique yet. A different set of rules apply to people pictures, not the least of which is speed – lord knows how many pictures had to be discarded because of poor reactions and failure to check settings in the rush to get the shot. Less haste, more speed in future I think.

Right, now, on with Alan’s challenge – 3 macro abstracts. Mmm, I wonder…

2 Responses to “1 – Portraits of People We’ve Never Pictured Before”

  1. alanbulley said

    Nice job! This is a different take on a portrait, Patrick. I can see from this shot and the others in your Flickr account that you took some time to pose Emma and to look for an interesting background.

    I also like the band of yellow in the background — it would have been quite a different shot without it and Emma’s silhouetted head would certainly have looked different on an unbroken field of white. The coloured band makes it look as though she’s got something to look at and through (even if it wasn’t the case when you took the shot). There’s a little bit of a colour cast, but it’s not unpleasant.

    I know what you mean about having to work at not rushing. I was glad that I’d already attached the lens I meant to use and that I’d checked some of the settings on the camera while we were chatting over tea. I don’t know about you, but I’m very conscious of not wanting to waste people’s time (which was not at all Ruth’s attitude — she was patient and gracious).

  2. Patrick said

    You know, coming back to this, I note that I often underexpose my pictures and seem to like them this way – I’m thinking this says something about my character….

Leave a Reply

