Welcome to 5000k

October 8, 2009

So, this is something of an experiment. It is a blog written by two men, Alan and Patrick, 5000 kilometers apart. This is Patrick writing now, sat somewhere in Richmond, London, UK. Alan is likely at work at the moment over the pond in Canada – he can tell you about that later. I told him I’d set up a wordpress account a few days ago but life intervened and it has taken longer than I though so apologies Alan – I hope it is going to turn out to be worth the wait.

I’ve never met my partner-in-blogging but we’ve exchanged information, views and photos over the last few months online, having met where, exactly? Somewhere on Flickr I think, but I could be wrong. Anyway, what we thought we’d do was use this collaborative project to try and improve our photography. I can’t pretend it doesn’t feel a bit odd, sharing something like this with someone I’ve never met, sharing passwords and the like, and it could all end in tears. However, I have a good feeling about this little project of ours and I’ll be very interested to see how it pans out (“probably in a virtual bloodbath” I hear the naysayers whisper – we shall see….).

One of the things we thought we would do would be to set challenges, centering on photography, designed to improve our skills in this most tantalizing of crafts. I’ve been given the honour of first shout, and I’ve set the challenge of taking a portrait of someone we have never photographed before. So, out comes the camera and over to you Alan….

Leave a Reply

